We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. Continuing to use this site signifies your implied consent to the use of Cookies - pressing the “Agree and Close” button will remove this notice.

Sherwood Business Centre, Mansfield Road
info@thingstodoguide.co.uk

We are often asked to do reviews for venues in Nottinghamshire - these can be restaurants, attractions - in fact, anything that is a 'Thing to do in Nottinghamshire'.

We hope that you find our opinion useful - we try to be as honest and objective as we can but we will tell you if there is something we really don't like too!

If you have a 'Thing to do in Nottinghamshire' that you'd like us to review, please get in touch! We don't ask for any payment for the reviews we do.

September 2018

The Thoresby Hall Hotel in Nottinghamshire is a Grade 1 listed stately home, located on the edge of Sherwood Forest. The present house was completed in 1871 and sold to the National Coal Board in 1979, due to a threat from coal mining subsidence, after which it was acquired by Warner Leisure and opened as a hotel and spa following a £21 million pound restoration.

22nd September 2018
Guest Review by Tuhina Lloyd

Hart’s is one of Nottingham’s finest eateries renowned for its award-winning food and wine, excellent service and exquisite attention to detail. The heritage building, once a general hospital has been transformed into minimalist, light and airy space akin to a New York art gallery.

14th September 2018

Walking into Nottingham’s National Justice Museum after dark is a whole different experience. With smoke machines blurring the historic features of the reception area, ghostly music and an array of spookily themed cocktails, it looked like it was going to be an event to remember.

11th September 2018

Popping down to Turtle Bay in Nottingham’s Cornerhouse on a damp, drizzly day is always a treat.   No matter how grey the day is outside, the sun is always shining in Turtle Bay and I totally love that feeling of warmth the restaurant exudes.

22nd June 2018

The Village Cafe and Bistro is a relatively small (but by no means tiny) establishment, run by husband and wife team Alex and Cassie Chiltern in Keyworth.

July 2018

Eating in hotel restaurants doesn't seem to be the 'norm' these days. When I was growing up in the 1980s, popping down to Nottingham's Moat House for Sunday lunch was something our family did fairly regularly and the restaurants in The Royal Hotel were the ones we headed to for an evening out.

May/June 2018 at Nottingham's National Ice Centre

We were looking for a new hobby for 9 year old Evie which wouldn’t cost us an arm and a leg, would include some level of fitness and, above all, she would stick at and not complain about going every week.

3rd June 2018

From the ashes of the Wilford Green Pub and Kitchen, a brand new Gastropub has emerged in Wilford, with a complete refurbishment and change of name. 

27th May 2018 at Nottingham’s Royal Concert Hall for the Nottingham Post

The presenters and characters from Channel 5’s Milkshake have left the studio to travel the UK with Milkshake Live! The Magic Story Book Tour.  With the promise of plenty of kids’ favourites, including Bob the Builder, the Little Princess, Noddy and Fireman Sam, there was an air of frenzied excitement at Nottingham’s Concert Hall and a surprisingly large attendance on this Bank Holiday weekend.

3rd May 2018

Head Chef, Luke Holland, used to be a Royal Marine.  After sailing the high seas, he's now cooking up a storm at Nottingham's Merchants Restaurant and has created an exciting new 5 course Taster Menu.